0模型铁路梯度

铁路模型, 像真的一样, 往往是相当平坦.  如果你想OT有梯度的更复杂的布局,则需要事先精打细算, 并避免诱惑,创造一个不切实际 (和undriveable!) 倾斜.

许多建模者希望建立的模型,看起来逼真, 让我们先从什么样的梯度是在真正的铁路发现.  对前者Woodhead公司主线的Worsbrough倾斜从曼彻斯特到谢菲尔德是一个 1 在 37 倾斜, 并定期使用 4 引擎.  默西铁路的部分自称为陡 1 在27由于是米德尔顿结到欧丹Werneth线.  更持续的梯度包括实例如约朴次茅斯其中来自Goldalming到Haslemere的线具有大约一梯度 1 在 80.  伯明翰附近的Lickey斜面是 1 在 38 对于倾斜 2 英里.

换句话说, 短倾斜对实体铁路已经严重的 1 在 27 (3.7%), 但这些需要特殊的银行机车或多个机车.  持续的最陡的倾斜,如果没有特殊的疯子不超过被操作 1 在 80 (1.25%)

跨越曲目 00 测量 要求 为60mm,从轨道的顶部上的高度, 上述基板的底部.  为10mm的基板+轨道厚度,这意味着跨过一个轨迹比另一个至少需要70毫米的相对高度差.  在最短的距离实现这一目标可以通过实现 1 跟踪下沉35mm胶片放映与其他上升35毫米.

随着现实的倾斜 1.25% 这需要2.8米的长度!

除非你有很多的空间,这将是很难用交叉建立一个布局在那坚持现实真实世界倾斜.  因此,接下来的问题是 - 什么是可以成功的典型操作最陡的斜坡 00 机车轨距, 是有什么可以做,以提高该.

在用户 霍恩比论坛 建议各地 1 在 75 似乎是一个6-教练车的限制. Anoth­er 建议 约 1 在 60. 这可以推到 1 在 50 较短的列车, 但随着全长 (8-10马车) 通过蒸汽火车头什么比陡峭的拉火车 1 在 50 是不大可能奏效. 使用相同的公式作为长度以上需要它仍然1.75米. 另一个很好的总结 ModelRailwayEngineer.

我们可以改进这个

在过去的一个方法建模人员提高了机车把手已经增加机车重量. 这有增加体重的明显缺点,该电机具有拉起任何倾斜, 并且里面有机车,以适应权重往往空间有限. 最近,我想知道是否有可能通过将磁性材料的下轨,并使用超现代感强磁铁,以提高机车的抓地力 (便宜可从易趣) 在机车,以提高抓地力. 嗯 - 原来它是 - 和已经有专门设计的套件,称为百百凹出售出于这样的目的. DCC概念保证百百凹将增加一倍疯子向上的拉动力 1 在 30 梯度, 但什么将你的疯子拉起的梯度入手, 多少会与百百凹帮助 1 在 50 倾斜?

一个测试 百百凹的发现了一个2-6-0机车上 1 在 35 梯度从提高拉 8 货车拉动 29 货车和可以做得更多.

可用的改进的另一个例子是最近在霍恩比magasine. 在 1.5% 倾斜 (1 在 66) 几乎每一个测试机车一倍它可以拉什么, 以能拉小0-6-0和4-4-0的疯子 6 要么 7 车厢, 和更大的2-6-0和4-6-0机车能拉 12+ 车厢.

使用百百凹似乎倾斜的 1 在 30 是可能的善长的火车, 采取这样的倾斜至只有1m所需的时间长度.

你怎么看? 请给我们一个评论如下! 如果您想订阅,请使用菜单上的订阅链接右上方. 您还可以通过使用下面的链接社会分享这与你的朋友. 干杯.

发表评论

0Model rail gradients

Mod­el rail­ways, like the real thing, tend to be fairly flat.  If you want ot have more com­plex lay­outs with gradi­ents you need to plan care­fully in advance, and avoid the tempta­tion to cre­ate an unreal­ist­ic (and undrive­able!) incline.

Many mod­el­lers wish to build mod­els that look real­ist­ic, so let’s start with what sort of gradi­ents are found on the real rail­ways.  The Wors­brough incline on the former wood­head main­line from Manchester to Shef­field was a 1 in 37 incline, and reg­u­larly used 4 engines.  Parts of Mer­sey rail are claimed to be as steep as 1 in 27 as is the Middleton Junc­tion to Old­ham Wer­neth line.  More sus­tained gradi­ents include examples such as around Ports­mouth where the line from Goldalm­ing to Haslemere has a gradi­ents of around 1 in 80.  The Lickey incline near Birm­ing­ham is a 1 in 38 incline for 2 miles.

Put anoth­er way, short inclines on the real rail­ways have been as severe as 1 in 27 (3.7%), but these required spe­cial bank­ing locos or mul­tiple locos.  The steep­est sus­tained inclines that are oper­ated without spe­cial locos don’t exceed 1 in 80 (1.25%)

To cross over tracks with 00 gauge requires a height of 60mm from top of track, to bot­tom of base­board above.  With a baseboard+track thick­ness of 10mm this means to cross one track over anoth­er will require a rel­at­ive height dif­fer­ence of at least 70mm.  Achiev­ing this in the shortest dis­tance can be achieved by 1 track sink­ing 35mm and the oth­er rising by 35mm.

With a real­ist­ic incline of 1.25% this requires a length of 2.8m!

Unless you have a lot of space it will be hard to build a lay­out with a cross over that sticks to real­ist­ic real world inclines.  So the next ques­tion is — what is the steep­est incline that can be oper­ated suc­cess­fully with typ­ic­al 00 gauge locos, and is there any­thing that can be done to improve this.

Users on the hornby for­um sug­gest that around 1 in 75 seems to be the lim­it for a 6-coach train. Anoth­er recom­mend­a­tion is around 1 in 60. This can be pushed to 1 in 50 with short­er trains, but with full length (8−10 car­riage) trains pulled by steam locos any­thing steep­er than 1 in 50 is unlikely to work. Using the same for­mula as above the length required it still 1.75m. Anoth­er good sum­mary is Mod­elRail­way­En­gin­eer.

Can we improve this

One way mod­el­lers have improved loco grip in the past has been to increase loco weight. This has the obvi­ous down­side of increas­ing the weight that the motor has to pull up any incline, and there is often lim­ited space inside locos to fit weights. I recently wondered if it would be pos­sible to improve the grip of locos by pla­cing a mag­net­ic mater­i­al under the track and using super-strong mod­ern mag­nets (cheaply avail­able from ebay) in locos to improve grip. Well — it turns out it is — and there is already spe­cially designed kit called Powerbase being sold for exactly this pur­pose. DCC con­cepts guar­an­tee that Powerbase will double the pulling power of locos up 1 in 30 gradi­ents, but what will your locos pull up those gradi­ents to start with, and how much will powerbase help with a 1 in 50 incline?

One test of powerbase found a 2−6−0 loco on a 1 in 35 gradi­ent improved from pulling 8 wag­ons to pulling 29 wag­ons and could have done more.

Anoth­er example of the improve­ments avail­able was recently in the Hornby magas­ine. On a 1.5% incline (1 in 66) almost every loco tested doubled what it could pull, with smal­ler 0−6−0 and 4−4−0 locos able to pull 6 or 7 car­riages, and lar­ger 2−6−0 and 4−6−0 locos able to pull 12+ car­riages.

Using Powerbase it seems that inclines of 1 in 30 are pos­sible with good length trains, tak­ing the length required for such an incline to only 1m.

Please send us your thoughts by commenting below! If you would like to subscribe please use the subscribe link on the menu at the top right. You can also share this with your friends by using the social links below. Cheers.

Leave a Reply