文章作者: 乔恩·斯卡夫

帮助环境

我一直打算开始写了,而一些“政治”的文章, 我想我会分享一些想法是好的为您的环境,往往对你的健康和你的钱包太少的变化可以使启动. 我住的地方在英格兰,我们只有 2 政府真正的选择:... 继续阅读 »

的铁路模型设计的集合

在过去的几个月中,我提出的铁路模型设计的集合作为新布局的可能性。虽然我不会落得建设大部分我想我会在这里分享他们的希望,他们可能会激发其他人.

旅游图书

美国地图

阅读是正在度假的伟大的乐趣之一, 但由于大多数我的文章都是关于欧洲各地旅行, 我想用这篇文章来推荐一些欧洲旅游书专.

模型铁路梯度

铁路模型, 像真的一样, 往往是相当平坦.  如果你想OT有梯度的更复杂的布局,则需要事先精打细算, 并避免诱惑,创造一个不切实际 (和undriveable!) 倾斜.

控制室内植物的有害生物

我长大番茄, 黄瓜, 辣椒, 柠檬和一个朝南的温室橄榄.  在过去 5 多年来,我一直遭受了一系列害虫的攻击我的植物, 似乎每年为不同类型的有害生物的,我征服了以前的害虫后.  Below I cov­er a few suc­cess­ful ways I’ve found to… 继续阅读 »

必须看到欧洲

美国地图

有很多的“必须看到”列出了欧洲, 但他们似乎都遵循一种或另一种标准的公式: 无论是销售环节的节日, 或博客挑选出自己喜爱在自己的国家.  许多长名单的美国目标读者和包括许多在英国的位置, which those of us… 继续阅读 »

欧洲旅行

美国地图

我已经写了约两倍左右刨欧洲驾车出行, 但因为这些文章中,我也做了非驱动欧洲旅游度假, 和我目前正在规划另一趟. 这篇文章的目的是作为一个全面的起点,计划在欧洲任何行.

Posts By: Jon Scaife

Travel Books

EU Map

Reading is one of the great joys of being on holiday, but since most of my articles are about travelling around Europe, I’d like to use this article to recommend some European travel books specifically.

European travel maps

EU Map

Through my various travels I have built up a good collection of travel maps for European cities, and routes through Europe.

Model rail gradients

Model railways, like the real thing, tend to be fairly flat.  If you want ot have more complex layouts with gradients you need to plan carefully in advance, and avoid the temptation to create an unrealistic (and undriveable!) incline.

Controlling pests on indoor plants

I grow tomatos, cucumbers, chillis, lemons and olives in a south facing conservatory.  Over the last 5 years I’ve suffered with a range of vermin attacking my plants, it seems to be a different type of pest each year after I’ve conquered the previous pest.  Below I cover a few successful ways I’ve found to… Read more »

Must See Europe

EU Map

There are lots of “must see” lists for Europe, but they all seem to follow one or another standard formula: either selling holiday links, or a blogger picking out their favourites in their own country.  Many of the longer lists target US readers and include lots of locations in the UK, which those of us… Read more »

Travelling Europe

EU Map

I have already written twice about planing a driving trip around Europe, but since those articles I have also done a non-driving European travelling holiday, and am currently planning another trip. This post is intended as a comprehensive starting point for planning any trip around Europe.

00-gauge SeTrack layout for a triple loop in 12ft x 8ft

Below is a layout which fits a triple loop design into a typical shed of 12ft x 8ft. This gives a good length of run between each station and still leaves plenty of space to reach the entire layout and add some scenery. Maximum gradient is 2%.

Track geometries for 00-Gauge Hornby SeTrack

I have recently returned to model railwaying after a hiatus of over a decade. Since I last modelled, things have changed considerably, with the wide availability of modelling software which allows layouts to be carefully designed in advance – ensuring the design will fit in the space, and that the required track is available.

Practical Jokes

After a recent conversation I was reminded of the numerous practical jokes I have carried out over the years. A quick scan around the Internet doesn’t actually reveal a particularly good selection of cheap harmless pranks to play on friends so I thought I’d share some of my favourites