0美国地图旅游图书

阅读是正在度假的伟大的乐趣之一, 但由于大多数我的文章都是关于欧洲各地旅行, 我想用这篇文章来推荐一些欧洲旅游书专.

帕特里克·利·费莫




被许多人誉为有史以来最伟大的旅行作家, 帕特里克·利·费莫尔(Patrick Leigh Fer­mor)撰写了有关1930到 20 文化.  他的主人公 (从荷兰角钩步行到君士坦丁堡) 是一本三书合集,描述了他在两次大战之间从荷兰德胡克(Hook of Holland)步行到康斯坦丁堡的经历.  如果您正在欧洲旅行并且对人民产生了兴趣, 历史, 以及自早期以来的变化 20 文化,然后再看.

比尔·布赖森


比尔·布赖森(Bill Bryson)是一位着名的,非常成功的旅行作家,他幽默地写他所访问的每个地方.  任何旅行者旅行的理想起点.

保罗·塞鲁

Paul Ther­oux是最近最成功的旅行作家之一.  虽然他的旅行通常是全球性的, 而不是仅持续地, 故事, 人们和地方都会激发您旅途中的任何旅行.


保罗·瑟鲁(Paul Ther­oux)—赫拉克勒斯的支柱: 地中海之旅

令我惊讶的是,我最喜欢这本书而不是这份清单.  我希望能看到玫瑰色的风景, 或像布赖森一样幽默的批评.  我发现这本书太过愤世嫉俗了.  在旅途的早期,Ther­oux几乎感到疲惫, 给西班牙带来特别艰难的时光.  随着本书的深入,它包含了更多的故事,并且更加着重于使人感觉明亮的人.  推荐人,副执行干事, 一旦你知道会发生什么.

罗伯特·拜伦



罗伯特·拜伦(Robert Byron)以他的书而闻名通往奥西萨纳(Oxi­ana)的道路.  他的早期作品和不太精致的作品之一是 镜子里的欧洲 其中描述了他与杰尔曼尼(Ger­many)的朋友通过意大利的劳斯莱斯(Rolls Royce)途经意大利到雅典的旅程。 1925.  虽然拜伦有时会表现得相当自大, 写作仍然是高水准的故事,这些故事引起了人们的兴趣和娱乐.

其他

尼克·亨特(Nick Hunt)—在树林和水里漫步

尼克·亨特(Nick Hunt)的书意在重复我上面提到的帕特里克·利·费莫(Patrick Leigh Fer­mor)的著名旅程.  这是对欧洲如何变化的一种美好的书面幻想 (或不) 在里面 80 帕迪(Paddy)步行到君士坦丁堡(Con­stantinople).

尼克·索普(Nick Thorpe)—多瑙河: 从黑海到黑森林的旅程之旅

尼克·索普(Nick Thorpe)写了一本很棒的书,着重讲述了历史和多瑙河周围的人们.  他走路 (而不是下跌!) 多瑙河吸收了前奥斯曼帝国和哈布斯堡帝国的大部分地区.

麦浩然(Geert Mak)—在欧洲: 游历 20 世纪

最近从荷兰语翻译而来,这是我发现的与Leigh Fer­mor最接近的风格.  从非英语文化的角度阅读很有趣, 并注意相似之处和不同之处.  请注意,这更多是关于 20 从地方角度讲文化, 而不是严格的“旅行书”.  高度推荐.

弗朗西斯·塔彭(Francis Tapon)-隐藏的欧洲: 东欧可以教给我们什么

对东欧国家从芬兰到希腊,从德国到俄罗斯的详细研究.  Tapon花费了大量的时间来积累本书中的知识和经验.  他还是沙发冲浪的伟大倡导者, 因此,如果这是您计划的一部分,这将是非常不错的阅读方法.

安德鲁·埃姆斯(Andrew Eames)-蓝河, 黑海

沿多瑙河的现代之旅.  一本扎实的旅游书籍, 我只是希望更多在其他书籍中发现的孩子般的奇想, 莱·费莫尔(Leigh Fer­mor).  这带来了令人难以置信的喜悦和艰辛的平衡,但我更喜欢玫瑰色的方法.  仍然强烈建议您进行类似旅行的任何计划.

威廉·达林普(William Dalrymple)—来自圣山: 拜占庭的阴影中的旅程

更多有关东地中海中世纪和拜占庭/东正教帝国历史的书.  如果您不喜欢利·费莫尔(Leigh Fer­mor)的历史性热情,可能不是这份清单上的第一本书,但是它是一个很好的扩展.

威廉·布莱克(William Blacker)-着迷: 罗马尼亚的爱情与生活故事

共产主义垮台后,威廉·利亚姆·布莱克(Wil­li­am Black­er)游走到罗马尼亚,并居住 (和爱) 自工业化前时期以来变化不大的孤立社区.  我发现这是一个几乎消失的文化的迷人故事.

我希望您觉得这个选择很愉快, 请让我知道你的想法. 我也欢迎其他建议.

你怎么看? 请给我们一个评论如下! 如果您想订阅,请使用菜单上的订阅链接右上方. 您还可以通过使用下面的链接社会分享这与你的朋友. 干杯.

您可能还喜欢。.

发表评论

0EU MapTravel Books

Read­ing is one of the great joys of being on hol­i­day, but since most of my art­icles are about trav­el­ling around Europe, I’d like to use this art­icle to recom­mend some European travel books spe­cific­ally.

Patrick Leigh Fermor




Regarded by many as the greatest travel writer of all time, Patrick Leigh Fer­mor wrote about travels all over the world from the 1930’s through­out the 20th cen­tury.  His mas­ter­piece (On Foot to Con­stantinople from the Hook of Hol­land) is the 3-book col­lec­tion describ­ing his walk from The Hook of Hol­land to Con­stantinople in the inter-war years.  If you are trav­el­ling Europe and are inter­ested in the people, the his­tory, and how it has changed since the early 20th cen­tury then look no fur­ther.

Bill Bryson


Bill Bryson is a well known and hugely suc­cess­ful travel writer who writes humor­ously about every­where he vis­its.  A great and access­ible place to start for any trav­el­ler.

Paul Theroux

Paul Ther­oux is one of the most suc­cess­ful travel writers of recent times.  Whilst his travels are usu­ally glob­al, rather than merely con­tin­ent­al, the stor­ies, people and places are all inspir­ing for any trip no mat­ter where you are going.


Paul Ther­oux — The pil­lars of Her­cules: A grand tour of the Medi­ter­ranean

To my sur­prise I enjoyed this book the least of this list.  I was hop­ing for either a rose tin­ted view, or some humor­ous cri­ti­cism in the style of Bryson.  I found this book just a little too cyn­ic­al and neg­at­ive.  Ther­oux almost feels jaded at times in the early parts of the jour­ney, giv­ing an espe­cially hard time to Spain.  As the book goes on it con­tains more good stor­ies and has a great­er focus on people which bright­ens the feel.  Recom­men­ded, once you know what to expect.

Robert Byron



Robert Byron is best known for his book The Road to Oxi­ana.  One of his earli­er and less refined works is Europe in the look­ing-glass which describes his jour­ney with friends from Ger­many to Athens via Italy in a Rolls Royce in the sum­mer of 1925.  Whilst Byron can come across as rather arrog­ant at times, the writ­ing is none the less of a high cal­ibre and the stor­ies inter­est­ing and amus­ing.

Others

Nick Hunt — Walking the Woods and the Water

Nick Hunt’s book is inten­ded as a repeat of the fam­ous jour­ney made by Patrick Leigh Fer­mor I have men­tioned above.  It is a won­der­fully writ­ten illus­tra­tion of how Europe has changed (or not) in the 80 years since Paddy walked to Con­stantinople.

Nick Thorpe — The Danube: A Journey Upriver from the Black Sea to the Black Forest

Nick Thorpe has writ­ten a great book with a large focus on the his­tory and the people around the river Danube.  His walk up (rather than down!) the Danube takes in large parts of the former Otto­man and Habs­burg empires.

Geert Mak — In Europe: Travels through the 20th century

Recently trans­lated from Dutch this is the closest in style that I’ve found to Leigh Fer­mor.  It is fas­cin­at­ing to read from the per­spect­ive of a non-Eng­lish cul­ture, and notice the sim­il­ar­it­ies and dif­fer­ences.  Note that this is more of a his­tory of the 20th cen­tury told from the per­spect­ive of places, rather than strictly a ‘travel book’.  Highly recom­men­ded.

Francis Tapon — The hidden Europe: What Eastern Europeans can teach us

A detailed study of the coun­tries of east­ern Europe from Fin­land to Greece and Ger­many to Rus­sia.  Tapon evid­ently spent con­sid­er­able time amass­ing the know­ledge and exper­i­ence in this book.  He is also a great advoc­ate for couch surf­ing, so if that’s part of your plan this will make very good read­ing.

Andrew Eames — Blue river, Black sea

A mod­ern jour­ney along the Danube.  A sol­id travel book with some good stor­ies, I just wished for more of the child­like won­der found in some oth­er books, not­ably Leigh Fer­mor.  This strikes a more believ­able bal­ance of joy and hard­ship but I prefer the rose tin­ted approach.  Still highly recom­men­ded for any­one plan­ning a sim­il­ar trip.

William Dalrymple — From the Holy Mountain: A journey in the shadow of Byzantium

More a book about the his­tory of the East­ern Medi­ter­ranean and the Byzantine/Eastern Ortho­dox empire.  Pos­sibly not the first book to read in this list but a great exten­sion if you enjoy the his­tor­ic­al enthu­si­asm of Leigh Fer­mor.

William Blacker — Along the enchanted way: A story of love and life in Romania

Wil­li­am Black­er trav­elled to Romania after the fall of com­mun­ism and lived (and loved) in isol­ated com­munit­ies that had changed little since pre-indus­tri­al times.  I found this a fas­cin­at­ing and grip­ping tale of a near-van­ished cul­ture.

I hope you find this selec­tion enjoy­able, please let me know what you think below. I’d also wel­come oth­er sug­ges­tions.

Got some thoughts of your own? Indulge yourself below by commenting! If you would like to subscribe please use the subscribe link on the menu at the top right. You can also share this with your friends by using the social links below. Cheers.

You might also like...

Leave a Reply