0США КартаПутешествия Книги

Чтение является одним из величайших радостей бытия на отдыхе, но так как большинство моих статей о путешествии по Европе, Я хотел бы использовать эту статью, чтобы порекомендовать некоторые книги о путешествиях по Европе..

Патрик Ли Фермор




Многие считают его величайшим писателем-путешественником всех времен, Патрик Ли Фермор писал о путешествиях по всему миру с 30-х годов 20й века.  Его шедевр (Пешком в Константинополь из Голландского Крюка) представляет собой коллекцию из трех книг, описывающую его прогулку из Голландского Крюка в Константинополь в межвоенные годы.  Если ты Путешествие по Европе и заинтересованы в людях, история, и как это изменилось с самого начала 20й век, тогда не смотрите дальше.

Билл Брайсон


Билл Брайсон - известный и чрезвычайно успешный писатель-путешественник, который с юмором пишет о том, где бы он ни был.  Отличное и доступное место для начала для любого путешественника.

Пол Теру

Пол Теру - один из самых успешных авторов путешествий за последнее время..  Хотя его путешествия обычно носят глобальный характер, а не просто континентальный, истории, люди и места вдохновляют на любое путешествие, куда бы вы ни отправились.


Поль Теру - Столпы Геракла: Грандиозный тур по Средиземному морю

К моему удивлению, эта книга мне понравилась меньше всего..  Я надеялся либо на розоватый оттенок, или какая-то юмористическая критика в стиле Брайсона.  Я нашел эту книгу слишком циничной и негативной.  Theroux почти чувствует себя измученным время от времени на ранних этапах путешествия, особенно трудное время для Испании.  Поскольку книга продолжается, она содержит больше хороших историй и больше фокусируется на людях, которые осветляют чувство.  рекомендуемый, как только вы знаете, чего ожидать.

Роберт Байрон



Роберт Байрон наиболее известен своей книгойДорога в Оксиану.  Одна из его ранних и менее изысканных работ Европа в зазеркалье который описывает его путешествие с друзьями из Германии в Афины через Италию на Rolls Royce летом 1925.  Хотя Байрон иногда может показаться довольно высокомерным, Написание тем не менее высокого уровня, а рассказы интересные и забавные.

другие

Ник Хант - Прогулка по лесу и воде

Книга Ника Ханта предназначена для повторения знаменитого путешествия, которое совершил Патрик Ли Фермор, о котором я упоминал выше..  Это прекрасно написанная иллюстрация того, как Европа изменилась (или не) в 80 лет с тех пор, как Падди отправился в Константинополь.

Ник Торп - Дунай: Путешествие вверх по реке от Черного моря до Шварцвальда

Ник Торп написал отличную книгу, в которой большое внимание уделяется истории и людям вокруг реки Дунай..  Его подняться (а не вниз!) Дунай захватывает большую часть бывшей Османской и Габсбургской империй.

Герт Мак - В Европе: Путешествует через 20й века

Недавно переведенный с голландского, это самый близкий по стилю, который я нашел к Ли Фермору.  Это интересно читать с точки зрения неанглийской культуры, и обратите внимание на сходства и различия.  Обратите внимание, что это больше история 20й век рассказал с точки зрения мест, а не просто «книга путешествий».  Настоятельно рекомендуется.

Фрэнсис Тапон - Скрытая Европа: Чему нас могут научить восточноевропейцы

Детальное изучение стран восточной Европы от Финляндии до Греции и Германии до России.  Тапон, очевидно, провел значительное время, накапливая знания и опыт в этой книге.  Он также является большим сторонником кушетки, так что, если это часть вашего плана, это будет очень хорошее чтение.

Эндрю Имс - Голубая река, Черное море

Современное путешествие по Дунаю.  Надежная книга путешествий с хорошими историями, Я просто хотел больше детского чуда, найденного в некоторых других книгах, особенно Ли Фермор.  Это создает более правдоподобный баланс радости и лишений, но я предпочитаю розоватый подход.  Тем не менее, настоятельно рекомендуется для тех, кто планирует аналогичную поездку.

Уильям Далримпл - Со Святой Горы: Путешествие в тени Византии

Еще книга об истории Восточного Средиземноморья и Византии / Восточно-православной империи.  Возможно, это не первая книга, которую нужно прочитать в этом списке, но отличное продолжение, если вам нравится исторический энтузиазм Ли Фермора..

Уильям Блэкер - по заколдованному пути: История любви и жизни в Румынии

Уильям Блэкер отправился в Румынию после падения коммунизма и жил (и любимый) в изолированных общинах, которые мало изменились с доиндустриальных времен.  Я нашел это увлекательным и захватывающим рассказом о почти исчезнувшей культуре..

Я надеюсь, что вы найдете этот выбор приятным, пожалуйста, дайте мне знать, что вы думаете ниже. Я также приветствую другие предложения.

Что вы думаете? Напишите нам комментарий ниже! Дайте нам знать, комментируя ниже. Дайте нам знать, комментируя ниже. Дайте нам знать, комментируя ниже.

Дайте нам знать, комментируя ниже.

оставьте ответ

0EU MapTravel Books

Reading is one of the great joys of being on holiday, but since most of my articles are about travelling around Europe, I’d like to use this article to recommend some European travel books specifically.

Patrick Leigh Fermor




Regarded by many as the greatest travel writer of all time, Patrick Leigh Fermor wrote about travels all over the world from the 1930’s throughout the 20th century.  His masterpiece (On Foot to Constantinople from the Hook of Holland) is the 3-book collection describing his walk from The Hook of Holland to Constantinople in the inter-war years.  If you are travelling Europe and are interested in the people, the history, and how it has changed since the early 20th century then look no further.

Bill Bryson


Bill Bryson is a well known and hugely successful travel writer who writes humorously about everywhere he visits.  A great and accessible place to start for any traveller.

Paul Theroux

Paul Theroux is one of the most successful travel writers of recent times.  Whilst his travels are usually global, rather than merely continental, the stories, people and places are all inspiring for any trip no matter where you are going.


Paul Theroux – The pillars of Hercules: A grand tour of the Mediterranean

To my surprise I enjoyed this book the least of this list.  I was hoping for either a rose tinted view, or some humorous criticism in the style of Bryson.  I found this book just a little too cynical and negative.  Theroux almost feels jaded at times in the early parts of the journey, giving an especially hard time to Spain.  As the book goes on it contains more good stories and has a greater focus on people which brightens the feel.  Recommended, once you know what to expect.

Robert Byron



Robert Byron is best known for his book The Road to Oxiana.  One of his earlier and less refined works is Europe in the looking-glass which describes his journey with friends from Germany to Athens via Italy in a Rolls Royce in the summer of 1925.  Whilst Byron can come across as rather arrogant at times, the writing is none the less of a high calibre and the stories interesting and amusing.

Others

Nick Hunt – Walking the Woods and the Water

Nick Hunt’s book is intended as a repeat of the famous journey made by Patrick Leigh Fermor I have mentioned above.  It is a wonderfully written illustration of how Europe has changed (or not) in the 80 years since Paddy walked to Constantinople.

Nick Thorpe – The Danube: A Journey Upriver from the Black Sea to the Black Forest

Nick Thorpe has written a great book with a large focus on the history and the people around the river Danube.  His walk up (rather than down!) the Danube takes in large parts of the former Ottoman and Habsburg empires.

Geert Mak – In Europe: Travels through the 20th century

Recently translated from Dutch this is the closest in style that I’ve found to Leigh Fermor.  It is fascinating to read from the perspective of a non-English culture, and notice the similarities and differences.  Note that this is more of a history of the 20th century told from the perspective of places, rather than strictly a ‘travel book’.  Highly recommended.

Francis Tapon – The hidden Europe: What Eastern Europeans can teach us

A detailed study of the countries of eastern Europe from Finland to Greece and Germany to Russia.  Tapon evidently spent considerable time amassing the knowledge and experience in this book.  He is also a great advocate for couch surfing, so if that’s part of your plan this will make very good reading.

Andrew Eames – Blue river, Black sea

A modern journey along the Danube.  A solid travel book with some good stories, I just wished for more of the childlike wonder found in some other books, notably Leigh Fermor.  This strikes a more believable balance of joy and hardship but I prefer the rose tinted approach.  Still highly recommended for anyone planning a similar trip.

William Dalrymple – From the Holy Mountain: A journey in the shadow of Byzantium

More a book about the history of the Eastern Mediterranean and the Byzantine/Eastern Orthodox empire.  Possibly not the first book to read in this list but a great extension if you enjoy the historical enthusiasm of Leigh Fermor.

William Blacker – Along the enchanted way: A story of love and life in Romania

William Blacker travelled to Romania after the fall of communism and lived (and loved) in isolated communities that had changed little since pre-industrial times.  I found this a fascinating and gripping tale of a near-vanished culture.

I hope you find this selection enjoyable, please let me know what you think below. I’d also welcome other suggestions.

Found this useful? Please do let us know by dropping a comment below. If you would like to subscribe please use the subscribe link on the menu at the top right. You can also share this with your friends by using the social links below. Cheers.

You might also like...

Leave a Reply