0خريطة الولايات المتحدةكتب السفر

القراءة هي واحدة من أفراح كبيرة من كونه في عطلة, ولكن نظرا لأن معظم مقالاتي على وشك السفر في جميع أنحاء أوروبا, أود أن استخدام هذه المادة أن يوصي بعض الكتب السفر الأوروبية على وجه التحديد.

باتريك لي فرمور




يعتبره الكثيرون أعظم كاتب السفر في كل العصور, كتب باتريك لي فرمور حول يسافر في جميع أنحاء العالم من عام 1930 في جميع أنحاء 20العاشر قرن.  رائعته (مشيا على الأقدام إلى القسطنطينية من هوك من هولندا) هو جمع 3-كتاب يصف مشيته من هوك من هولندا إلى القسطنطينية في السنوات بين حرب.  إذا كنت مسافرا أوروبا والمهتمين في الشعب, التاريخ, وكيف تغيرت منذ وقت مبكر 20العاشر القرن ثم ننظر إلى أبعد.

بيل بريسون


بيل بريسون غير معروفة وناجحة بشكل كبير سفر الكاتب الذي يكتب بخفة دم في كل مكان تقريبا انه مرة.  مكان عظيم ويمكن الوصول إليها لبدء لأي مسافر.

بول تيرو

بول تيرو هي واحدة من معظم الكتاب السفر الناجحة في الآونة الأخيرة.  في حين أسفاره وعادة ما تكون عالمية, بدلا من مجرد القارية, قصص, الناس والأماكن كلها الملهم لأي رحلة لا يهم أين أنت ذاهب.


بول تيرو - وأعمدة هرقل: جولة الكبرى من البحر الأبيض المتوسط

لدهشتي لقد استمتعت هذا الكتاب أقل من هذه القائمة.  وكنت آمل لأي جهة نظر ارتفع ملون, أو بعض الانتقادات من روح الدعابة في أسلوب بريسون.  لقد وجدت هذا الكتاب قليلا ساخر جدا والسلبية.  تيرو تقريبا يشعر المتراخية في بعض الأحيان في الأجزاء الأولى من الرحلة, إعطاء الوقت خصوصا الصعب اسبانيا.  وكما يقول الكتاب على أنه يحتوي على المزيد من القصص جيدة ولديه تركيز أكبر على الشعب الذي يضيء يشعر.  موصى به, بمجرد أن تعرف ما يمكن توقعه.

روبرت بايرون



روبرت بايرون تشتهر كتابهالطريق إلى Oxiana.  واحدة من أعماله في وقت سابق، وأقل المكرر هو أوروبا في الزجاج أبحث الذي يصف رحلته مع الأصدقاء من ألمانيا إلى أثينا عبر إيطاليا في Rolls-Royce في صيف عام 1925.  في حين بايرون يمكن أن تأتي عبر والغطرسة بدلا أحيانا, الكتابة هي لا شيء أقل من العيار الثقيل وقصص مثيرة للاهتمام ومسلية.

الآخرين

نيك هانت - المشي وودز والمياه

ويهدف الكتاب نيك هانت بمثابة تكرار الرحلة الشهيرة التي قدمها من باتريك لي فرمور ذكرتها أعلاه.  وهو أيضا مثال مكتوبة رائعة من كيف تغيرت أوروبا (أم لا) في ال 80 سنوات منذ مشى بادي إلى القسطنطينية.

نيك ثورب - الدانوب: رحلة نحو المصدر من البحر الأسود إلى الغابة السوداء

وقد كتب نيك ثورب كتاب عظيم مع التركيز كبير على التاريخ والشعب حول نهر الدانوب.  مشيته حتى (بدلا من أسفل!) يأخذ نهر الدانوب في أجزاء كبيرة من الإمبراطوريات العثمانية وهابسبورغ السابقة.

خيرت ماك - في أوروبا: ينتقل عن طريق 20العاشر مئة عام

ترجم مؤخرا من الهولندية هذا هو الأقرب في الاسلوب التي وجدتها للي فرمور.  ومن المدهش القراءة من منظور ثقافة غير الإنجليزية, ولاحظ أوجه التشابه والاختلاف.  لاحظ أن هذا هو أكثر من تاريخ 20العاشر وقال قرن من وجهة نظر الأماكن, بدلا من حصرا "كتاب السفر".  موصى به للغاية.

فرانسيس تابون - ومخبأة أوروبا: ماذا يمكن أن أوروبا الشرقية يعلمنا

دراسة مفصلة من بلدان أوروبا الشرقية من فنلندا الى اليونان وألمانيا إلى روسيا.  TAPON قضى وقتا طويلا من الواضح تكديس المعرفة والخبرة في هذا الكتاب.  وهو أيضا داعية كبيرة لتصفح الأريكة, حتى إذا كان هذا جزءا من خطتك هذا سيجعل قراءة جيدة جدا.

اندرو ايمز - النهر الأزرق, البحر الاسود

رحلة حديثة على طول نهر الدانوب.  كتاب السفر متينة مع بعض القصص الجيدة, تمنيت لأكثر من عجب طفولي وجدت في بعض الكتب الأخرى, خصوصا لي فرمور.  هذا توازنا أكثر تصديق من الفرح والمشقة ولكن يفضل ارتفع نهج ملون.  لا يزال ينصح بشدة لأي شخص التخطيط لرحلة مماثلة.

وليام دالريمبل - من الجبل المقدس: رحلة في ظل بيزنطة

أكثر كتاب عن تاريخ شرق البحر الأبيض المتوسط ​​والإمبراطورية البيزنطية / الأرثوذكسية الشرقية.  ربما ليس أول كتاب لقراءة في هذه القائمة ولكن امتداد كبير إذا كنت تتمتع الحماس التاريخي لي فرمور.

وليام سوادا - على طول الطريق السحر: قصة الحب والحياة في رومانيا

سافر وليام سوادا لرومانيا بعد سقوط الشيوعية وعاش (وأحب) في المجتمعات المعزولة التي قد تغيرت قليلا منذ العصور الصناعي قبل.  لقد وجدت هذه قصة رائعة والتي تجتاح ثقافة شبه اختفت.

وآمل أن تجد هذا الاختيار ممتعة, واسمحوا لي أن أعرف ما هو رأيك أدناه. فما استقاموا لكم فاستقيموا نرحب أيضا اقتراحات أخرى.

وجدت هذا مفيدا? يرجى إعلامنا عن طريق إسقاط التعليق أدناه. إذا كنت ترغب في الاشتراك يرجى استخدام الرابط الاشتراك في القائمة في اعلى اليمين. يمكنك أيضا مشاركة هذا مع أصدقائك باستخدام الروابط الاجتماعية أدناه. في صحتك.

قد يعجبك ايضا..

اترك رد

0EU MapTravel Books

Read­ing is one of the great joys of being on hol­i­day, but since most of my art­icles are about trav­el­ling around Europe, I’d like to use this art­icle to recom­mend some European travel books spe­cific­ally.

Patrick Leigh Fermor




Regarded by many as the greatest travel writer of all time, Patrick Leigh Fer­mor wrote about travels all over the world from the 1930’s through­out the 20th cen­tury.  His mas­ter­piece (On Foot to Con­stantinople from the Hook of Hol­land) is the 3-book col­lec­tion describ­ing his walk from The Hook of Hol­land to Con­stantinople in the inter-war years.  If you are trav­el­ling Europe and are inter­ested in the people, the his­tory, and how it has changed since the early 20th cen­tury then look no fur­ther.

Bill Bryson


Bill Bryson is a well known and hugely suc­cess­ful travel writer who writes humor­ously about every­where he vis­its.  A great and access­ible place to start for any trav­el­ler.

Paul Theroux

Paul Ther­oux is one of the most suc­cess­ful travel writers of recent times.  Whilst his travels are usu­ally glob­al, rather than merely con­tin­ent­al, the stor­ies, people and places are all inspir­ing for any trip no mat­ter where you are going.


Paul Ther­oux — The pil­lars of Her­cules: A grand tour of the Medi­ter­ranean

To my sur­prise I enjoyed this book the least of this list.  I was hop­ing for either a rose tin­ted view, or some humor­ous cri­ti­cism in the style of Bryson.  I found this book just a little too cyn­ic­al and neg­at­ive.  Ther­oux almost feels jaded at times in the early parts of the jour­ney, giv­ing an espe­cially hard time to Spain.  As the book goes on it con­tains more good stor­ies and has a great­er focus on people which bright­ens the feel.  Recom­men­ded, once you know what to expect.

Robert Byron



Robert Byron is best known for his book The Road to Oxi­ana.  One of his earli­er and less refined works is Europe in the look­ing-glass which describes his jour­ney with friends from Ger­many to Athens via Italy in a Rolls Royce in the sum­mer of 1925.  Whilst Byron can come across as rather arrog­ant at times, the writ­ing is none the less of a high cal­ibre and the stor­ies inter­est­ing and amus­ing.

Others

Nick Hunt — Walking the Woods and the Water

Nick Hunt’s book is inten­ded as a repeat of the fam­ous jour­ney made by Patrick Leigh Fer­mor I have men­tioned above.  It is a won­der­fully writ­ten illus­tra­tion of how Europe has changed (or not) in the 80 years since Paddy walked to Con­stantinople.

Nick Thorpe — The Danube: A Journey Upriver from the Black Sea to the Black Forest

Nick Thorpe has writ­ten a great book with a large focus on the his­tory and the people around the river Danube.  His walk up (rather than down!) the Danube takes in large parts of the former Otto­man and Habs­burg empires.

Geert Mak — In Europe: Travels through the 20th century

Recently trans­lated from Dutch this is the closest in style that I’ve found to Leigh Fer­mor.  It is fas­cin­at­ing to read from the per­spect­ive of a non-Eng­lish cul­ture, and notice the sim­il­ar­it­ies and dif­fer­ences.  Note that this is more of a his­tory of the 20th cen­tury told from the per­spect­ive of places, rather than strictly a ‘travel book’.  Highly recom­men­ded.

Francis Tapon — The hidden Europe: What Eastern Europeans can teach us

A detailed study of the coun­tries of east­ern Europe from Fin­land to Greece and Ger­many to Rus­sia.  Tapon evid­ently spent con­sid­er­able time amass­ing the know­ledge and exper­i­ence in this book.  He is also a great advoc­ate for couch surf­ing, so if that’s part of your plan this will make very good read­ing.

Andrew Eames — Blue river, Black sea

A mod­ern jour­ney along the Danube.  A sol­id travel book with some good stor­ies, I just wished for more of the child­like won­der found in some oth­er books, not­ably Leigh Fer­mor.  This strikes a more believ­able bal­ance of joy and hard­ship but I prefer the rose tin­ted approach.  Still highly recom­men­ded for any­one plan­ning a sim­il­ar trip.

William Dalrymple — From the Holy Mountain: A journey in the shadow of Byzantium

More a book about the his­tory of the East­ern Medi­ter­ranean and the Byzantine/Eastern Ortho­dox empire.  Pos­sibly not the first book to read in this list but a great exten­sion if you enjoy the his­tor­ic­al enthu­si­asm of Leigh Fer­mor.

William Blacker — Along the enchanted way: A story of love and life in Romania

Wil­li­am Black­er trav­elled to Romania after the fall of com­mun­ism and lived (and loved) in isol­ated com­munit­ies that had changed little since pre-indus­tri­al times.  I found this a fas­cin­at­ing and grip­ping tale of a near-van­ished cul­ture.

I hope you find this selec­tion enjoy­able, please let me know what you think below. I’d also wel­come oth­er sug­ges­tions.

Got some thoughts of your own? Indulge yourself below by commenting! If you would like to subscribe please use the subscribe link on the menu at the top right. You can also share this with your friends by using the social links below. Cheers.

You might also like...

Leave a Reply