0南奔鲜啤酒开拓者

最近一群朋友和我在去 南奔散装啤酒步道. 这是相同的啤酒线索,精选的 奥兹和詹姆斯酒后英国. 之前细谈, 简单总结 - 我们都有一个很好的一天, 并享有良好的几个生啤酒.


路线

我们决定开始在该行的利兹结束,我们的方式向曼彻斯特. 有 8 沿途停靠, 并且我们打算至少有 1 每次都要喝酒,我们要认真计划时间,这样我们才不会错过上趟火车回家. 一个 南奔日游侠 (为£19) 涵盖了所有的旅程, 在我们的情况下, 也包括我们的行程,并从谢菲尔德. 对于一个方便的快速参考每个酒吧,我建议这种打印副本 淡啤之旅传单 and 我的谷歌地图 铁路路线和酒吧的地点.

时间表

对于淡啤之旅所需的服务由北列车运行,被称为 哈德斯菲尔德路线 有 2 需要不同的一条龙服务, 各覆盖一半的路线和运行都哈德斯菲尔德. 首先是利兹 - 迪斯伯里 - 米菲尔德 - 哈德斯菲尔德服务,停在Cottingley, 莫利, 巴特利, 迪斯伯里, 雷文斯索普, 米菲尔德, 戴顿和哈德斯菲尔德, 和第二个是哈德斯 - 阿什顿安德莱恩 - 曼彻斯特维多利亚服务,停止在Slaithewaite, 马斯登, 格林菲尔德, 莫斯莱(Mossley), 斯泰利布里奇, 阿什顿安德莱恩和曼彻斯特维多利亚. 这两种服务的运行一次 60 分钟. 该 哈德斯菲尔德线时刻表 cov­ers both these services.

为了节省一点时间, 我们并不想以直截了当的方式遵循这条路线,因为我们不想在每个酒吧度过整整一个小时. 我们开始旅行从利兹迪斯伯里, 对利兹乘车返回前巴特利. 然后我们回到对曼彻斯特但绕过迪斯伯里 (在这里我们就已经) 从巴特利直奔米菲尔德. 虽然这只是救了我们 34 淡啤之旅分钟, 它使我们能够赶上从谢菲尔德到利兹以后的列车 (越野服务,只需要 41 分钟到利兹)

该酒吧

淡啤之旅网站列出了各站的酒吧, 但已经做淡啤之旅的一部分之前, 我知道有一个以上 1 酒馆从每一站选择. 下面我将覆盖所有的酒吧我知道

利兹

威瑟斯本
位置: 100m from the plat­form in the station.
餐饮: 是, 标准威瑟斯本菜单
我们的想法: 由于时间原因,我们没有来过这里-当然,我们之前都去过过Weth­erspoons.

巴特利

地窖酒吧
位置: 60从车站停车场的另一边的平台米.
餐饮: 未知
我们的想法: 地窖酒吧看起来似乎是从外面相当令人失望 (即. 它看起来像一个典型的足球+纵梁酒吧) 但一旦友好的工作人员内部, 优良的啤酒和居民的猫给一个更好的印象. 我们组之间,我们有索尔泰尔金发和铜龙金皮平, 这其中既有非常出色

迪斯伯里

西骑-茶点室,迪斯伯里西部骑马茶点室
位置: In the sta­tion with dir­ect access from plat­form 1
餐饮: 菜单取决于天. 上周六,是 但是天数早餐 上午10点 - 下午4点
我们的想法: 西部骑马有很大的内部, 和大量饮酒者的纪念品. 它也有啤酒极好的选择, 并做了伟大的冠冕堂皇的早餐. 我们唯一的抱怨是它如何获得忙. 中午感觉更像午夜, 绝对撞向充满了谁显然倒是人很早就开始了,并已经喝够了非常响亮. 那不是不友善的喝醉, 每个人都快乐, 但是当你有你的日子的第一品脱其漂亮的坐下来,以正常音量有一个温柔的唠叨!

默菲尔德

在导航-默菲尔德The Nav­ig­a­tion Tavern
位置: 300从平台米. 从停车场走的路, 右转,铁路下走. 在第一个路口向左铁路下穿过后.
餐饮: 没有
我们的想法: 这是我最喜欢的酒吧之一. 内部是过时, 但每次我去过那儿的时间一直坐在房间里,快速的服务. 此外,还有一个广泛的啤酒选择有啥不一样! 有在酒吧手挽泵, 多处理与栏上方的标签 - 这些标签都是可用的回条上的啤酒! 不要犯这样的错误,我们的一些当事人作出假设选择的是仅限于前栏上的泵. 如果有疑问 - 问!

哈德斯菲尔德

最头的蒸汽,哈德斯菲尔德蒸汽主管
位置: 在从平台上直接访问该站 1. 向车站的南西端.
餐饮: 是. 一个 很不错的选择 供应至晚上9点. We ate here and were very impressed with the qual­ity of food and speed of service.
我们的想法: 我们更喜欢蒸汽头国王头. 食物, 如上所述, 是好的. 有一对夫妇底片虽, 两者的相关工作人员. 第一次是当我们看到得到的自助餐房间一张桌子,我们被告知只有这些人在我们党谁吃的时候可以坐在那里, 因此,实际上,我们被告知要分裂我们的党了. 我们选择在酒吧的酒吧里吃饭,这不是问题. 第二个问题是与酒吧工作人员的人刻意忽略我们党的一员时,她是在酒吧. 有没有其他人在当时的条, 并且只要我们党的其他成员之一去了酒吧,而不是他们得到的服务. 我们相信,对于初始非服务的原因是有关种族背景. How­ever, 我宁愿认为它是一个无辜的意外. 从积极的一面啤酒非常好. 我有一个索尔泰尔覆盆子金发这是迄今为止最好的果啤我曾经有过. 它有覆盆子的味道鲜美而不体弱多病,甜最喜欢的水果啤酒.

在天王头,哈德斯菲尔德国王头 (FKA The Sta­tion Tavern)
位置: 在“东荣”站
餐饮: 没有
我们的想法: 国王头有强麦一个很好的选择, 但尽管是等级 1 lis­ted is dis­ap­point­ing in terms of decor and comfort.

Slaithwaite

在商业,slaithwaite商业
位置: 300从平台米. 离开该平台进入停车场. 做一个 180 转身从停车场走下来的小路上. 在主要道路采取强硬右翼和下山. 按照道路的转弯向左. 在环岛酒吧是在靠近左上角.
餐饮: 没有
我们的想法: 我们有点失望与被宣传为一种麦芽酒酒吧和酒吧商用. 当我们供应一品脱啤酒时,这不是一个好的开始 小船, 尤其是我的另一半的拉格 - 仙地端上来在适当的玻璃 - 当然南辕北辙! 我问酒保推荐一个淡啤酒,并提交了什么,我被告知是当地酿造淡啤酒. 我没有给这个名字, 但我相信这是“COMMERCIALE”. 我想建议人们避免它 - 这是很eggy和非常令人失望, 不是由小艇帮助无疑. 这是不是那种经验,我从一个“2009年的CAMRA酒馆”预期,所以也许我们只是运气不好?

最天鹅slaithwaite天鹅
位置: 550从平台米. 东北.
餐饮: 没有
我们的想法: 天鹅是由同一人作为国有商业, 并且进一步是从站. As a res­ult we chose not to visit.

马斯登

最河源 - 马斯登在河源啤酒厂点击 & 饭厅
位置: 300从平台米. 晃过“铁路”的酒吧和跟随主路到山底. 走在河. 该酒吧是面对河右侧.
餐饮: 是, 细节不详
我们的想法: 在河源由Ossett啤酒厂拥有, 并如预期, 提供啤酒是不错的选择. 它旁边的河科恩迷人的环境. Whilst sat in the right hand half of the pub you get a great view into the brew­ery room which is always interesting.

隧道末端客栈马斯登隧道端酒店
位置: 800从平台米. 离开车站, 右转,便又穿越铁路. 左转,并按照Reddisher路正西. 酒吧是650米后右手边.
餐饮:
我们的想法: 不幸的是,隧道端酒店暂时关闭. 希望这将很快重新开放,因为它听起来就像古道上最有潜力的酒吧之一

格林菲尔德

在铁路,客栈绿地铁路酒店
位置: 50从平台米, 在路的相反侧
餐饮: 我们没有询问, 但相信有可用的猪肉馅饼.
我们的想法: 铁路酒店有一个稍微不那么丰富的啤酒选择比大多数其他的酒吧. 当我们参观了唯一可用的生啤酒是Deuchars, 铜龙和庞巴迪. 在有限的选择吧,这是一个体面的酒吧, 并很高兴,能够得到一个比较表容易.

斯泰利布里奇

自助酒吧斯泰利布里奇Sta­lybridge BuffetBar
位置: 从平台上直接访问, 在站
餐饮: 没有
我们的想法: 一个很长的细酒吧, 这使得它很难进入. 一旦我们在人群中做我们的方式,我们能够在远端查找表. 啤酒的选择是好的,但通过这一点,我们会做出许多笔记失去了兴趣. 我记得然而在墙壁上的一些有趣的图片. 我想,这将是我们的最爱之一,如果它一直不太忙, 我们一直在更清醒!

曼彻斯特

我们没有走到曼彻斯特, 但也有在车站附近doubless酒吧如果不是在它.

发现这个有用? 请不要让我们知道通过下降到低于评论. 如果您想订阅,请使用菜单上的订阅链接右上方. 您还可以通过使用下面的链接社会分享这与你的朋友. 干杯.

发表评论

0South Pennines Réal Ale Trail

Recently a group of friends and I went on the South Pennines Real Ale Trail. This is the same Ale Trail that featured on Oz and James Drink to Britain. Before going into detail, a quick summary – we all had an excellent day, and enjoyed a good few ales.

new-timetableRoute

We decided to start at the Leeds end of the line and work our way towards Manchester. There are 8 stops along the way, and as we were intending to have at least 1 drink at each we had to carefully plan our times so we didn’t miss the last train home. A South Pennines Day Ranger (for £19) covers all the journey, and in our case, also covered our journeys to and from Sheffield. For a handy quick-reference to each pub I’d recommend printing a copy of this ale trail flyer and my google map of the rail route and pub locations.

Timetable

The service required for the ale trail is operated by Northern Trains and is called the Huddersfield Route There are 2 different train services required, each covers half the route and both run to Huddersfield. The first is the Leeds – Dewsbury – Mirfield – Huddersfield service which stops at Cottingley, Morley, Batley, Dewsbury, Ravensthorpe, Mirfield, Deighton and Huddersfield, and the second is the Huddersfield – Ashton-under-Lyne – Manchester Victoria service which stops at Slaithewaite, Marsden, Greenfield, Mossley, Stalybridge, Ashton-under-Lyne and Manchester Victoria. Both of these services run once every 60 minutes. The Huddersfield Line Timetable covers both these services.
To save a bit of time, we didn’t follow the route in a straight-through fashion as we didn’t want to spend a full hour in each pub. We started by travelling from Leeds to Dewsbury, before travelling back towards Leeds to Batley. We then headed back towards Manchester but bypassed Dewsbury (where we’d already been) and went from Batley straight to Mirfield. Whilst this only saved us 34 minutes on the ale trail, it allowed us to catch a later train from Sheffield to Leeds (A Cross Country service which only takes 41 mins to Leeds)

The pubs

The Ale Trail website lists a pub for each stop, but having done part of the Ale Trail before, I knew there was more than 1 pub to choose from at each stop. Below I will cover all the pubs I am aware of

Leeds

Wetherspoons
Location: 100m from the platform in the station.
Food: Yes, standard Wetherspoons menu
Our thoughts: We didn’t visit here due to time – plus of course we’ve all been to a Wetherspoons before.

Batley

cellarbar-batleyThe Cellar Bar
Location: 60m from the platform on the far side of the station car park.
Food: Unknown
Our thoughts: The Cellar Bar looks like it might be rather disappointing from the outside (i.e. it looks like a typical football+carling bar) but once inside the friendly staff, excellent beers and resident cat give a much better impression. Between our group we had Saltaire Blonde and Copper Dragon Golden Pippin, both of which were excellent

Dewsbury

west-riding-refreshment-rooms-dewsburyWest Riding Refreshment Rooms
Location: In the station with direct access from platform 1
Food: Menu depends on day. On Saturdays there is an Ale Day Breakfast from 10am – 4pm
Our thoughts: The West Riding has a great interior, and lots of drinkers memorabilia. It also has an excellent selection of beer, and does a great sounding breakfast. Our only complaint was how busy it gets. At midday it felt more like midnight, absolutely rammed full of people who’d obviously started very early and were already drunk enough to be very loud. It wasn’t unfriendly drunk, everyone was jolly, but when you’re having your first pint of the day its nice to sit down and have a gentle natter at a normal volume!

Mirfield

the-navigation-mirfieldThe Navigation Tavern
Location: 300m from the platform. Walk down the road from the car park, turn right and go under the railway. Take the first left after passing under the railway.
Food: No
Our thoughts: This was one of my favourite pubs. The interior is dated, but each time I’ve been there has been room to sit and quick service. There is also an extensive selection of ales so what’s not to like! There are hand-pull pumps on the bar, and more handles with labels above the bar – these labels are for the beers that are available on the back bar! Don’t make the mistake that some of our party made of assuming the selection is limited to the pumps on the front bar. If in doubt – ask!

Huddersfield

the-head-of-steam-huddersfieldHead of Steam
Location: In the station with direct access from platform 1. Towards the south-west end of the station.
Food: Yes. A very good selection is served until 9pm. We ate here and were very impressed with the quality of food and speed of service.
Our thoughts: We much preferred the head of steam to the kings head. The food, as noted above, was good. There were a couple of negatives though, both related to staff. The first was when we looked to get a table in the buffet room we were told only those people in our party who were eating could sit in there, so in effect we were told to split our party up. We chose instead to eat in the bar part of the pub which wasn’t a problem. The second issue was with one of the bar staff deliberately ignoring one member of our party when she was at the bar. There was no-one else at the bar at the time, and as soon as one of the other members of our party went to the bar instead they got service. It is our belief that the reason for the initial non-service was related to ethnic background. However, I would prefer to think that it was an innocent accident. On the positive side the beer was excellent. I had a Saltaire Raspberry Blonde which was by far the best fruit beer I’ve ever had. It had a delicious taste of raspberry without being sickly and sweet like most fruit beers.

the-kings-head-huddersfieldKings Head (FKA The Station Tavern)
Location: In the station in the “East Wing”
Food: No
Our thoughts: The Kings Head has a good selection of Ales, but despite being grade 1 listed is disappointing in terms of decor and comfort.

Slaithwaite

the-commercial-slaithwaiteThe Commercial
Location: 300m from the platform. Leave the platform into the car park. Do a 180 turn and go down the little road from the car park. At the main road take a hard-right and go down the hill. Follow the curve of the road to the left. At the roundabout the pub is on the near left corner.
Food: No
Our thoughts: We were a bit disappointed with the commercial which is billed as an ale pub and wine bar. It wasn’t a good start when our pints of ale were served in skiffs, especially as my better half’s Lager-Shandy was served in a proper glass – Surely the wrong way round! I asked the barman to recommend a Pale Ale and was presented with what I was told was a locally brewed pale ale. I wasn’t given the name, but I believe it was “Commerciale”. I would like to recommend people avoid it – it was quite eggy and very disappointing, not helped by the skiff no doubt. This is not the sort of experience I expect from a “CAMRA pub of the year 2009” so maybe we were just unlucky?

the-swan-slaithwaiteThe Swan
Location: 550m from the platform. North-East.
Food: No
Our thoughts: The swan is owned by the same people as the Commercial, and is further from the station. As a result we chose not to visit.

Marsden

the-riverhead-marsdenThe Riverhead Brewery Tap & Dining Room
Location: 300m from the platform. Go past “the railway” pub and follow the main road to the bottom of the hill. Go over the river. The pub is facing the river on the right.
Food: Yes, details unknown
Our thoughts: The Riverhead is owned by Ossett brewery, and as expected, offered a good choice of ales. It has a lovely setting right next to the river Colne. Whilst sat in the right hand half of the pub you get a great view into the brewery room which is always interesting.

tunnel-end-inn-marsdenThe Tunnel End Inn
Location: 800m from platform. Leave the station, turn right and right again to cross the railway. Turn left and follow Reddisher Road due West. The pub is on the right hand side after 650m.
Food: Yes
Our thoughts: Unfortunately the Tunnel End Inn is temporarily closed. Hopefully it will reopen soon as it sounds like one of the best potential pubs on the trail

Greenfield

the-railway-inn-greenfieldRailway Inn
Location: 50m from platform, on opposite side of the road
Food: We didn’t enquire, but believe there are pork pies available.
Our thoughts: The Railway Inn had a slightly less extensive selection of ales than most of the other pubs. When we visited the only ales available were Deuchars, Copper Dragon and Bombardier. The limited selection aside this was a decent pub, and it was nice to be able to get a table fairly readily.

Stalybridge

buffet-bar-stalybridgeStalybridge BuffetBar
Location: Direct access from platform, in the station
Food: No
Our thoughts: A very long thin pub, which made it hard to get into. Once we made our way through the crowds we were able to find a table at the far end. The selection of beer was good but by this point we’d lost interest in making many notes. I do remember some interesting pictures on the walls however. I think this would have been one of our favourites if it had been less busy, and we’d been more sober!

Manchester

We didn’t go as far as Manchester, but there are doubless pubs near the station if not in it.

What do you think? Drop us a comment below! If you would like to subscribe please use the subscribe link on the menu at the top right. You can also share this with your friends by using the social links below. Cheers.

Leave a Reply