1أسفل Sarakina خانقSarakina خانق في جنوب شرق جزيرة كريت

قبل انطلقنا في رحلاتنا هذا العام, لقد لاحظت صورة في الفيسبوك, نشرت من قبل "صفحة" أتابع يسمى VisitIerapetra. وكانت صورة جميلة تبحث الخانق المياه العذبة, يبدو قريب جدا من إرابيترا في جنوب شرق جزيرة كريت. بعد أن زار إرابيترا على 20 مرات وجود الأصدقاء الذين يعيشون هناك, ظننت أنني ربما كنت رأيت كل من أبرز المحلية, ولكن لم أسمع من هذا الخانق. وأشار شيئا من البحث على جوجل أن الخانق لم يكن جيدا خاصة معروفة, على الأقل إلى المتحدثين باللغة الانجليزية. أنا جمعت ما هي المعلومات التي يمكن أن أقوله ونذرت للعثور على مكان.

Sarakina خانقبعد عدة أيام الحصول على تسوية الظهر في كريت انطلقنا للعثور على الخانق. كان لدي شكوك أن عرفت أين بدأت رحلة كما بضع سنوات في وقت سابق كنا قد اكتشف النهر على بعد مسافة قصيرة من إرابيترا, ومع المياه العذبة يجري نادرة إلى حد ما في أغسطس في جنوب شرق جزيرة كريت يبدو المكان المنطقي لبدء. لحسن الحظ اتضح أن يكون المكان المناسب. ودعا Sarakina خانق خانق, ولكن من المعروف أيضا باسم Myrtos الوادي والسكان المحليين كما Sarantapihos. على خرائط جوجل هو المسمى النهر بأنها "Myrtos Potamos" (أي. نهر Myrtos) على الرغم من أنه يسمى الأصح Kriopotamos.

بعض النصائح قبل الاقلاع

سوف تحتاج الأحذية التي كنت تنظر مناسبة ل"التدافع"; أنا لا أوصي المتأرجح على سبيل المثال! بالتساوي, أنت من المحتمل أن تحصل على قدميك في الماء, حتى الأحذية باهظة الثمن أو المدربين قد لا يكون الخيار الأكثر منطقية إما. أنا ارتدى بعض "حذاء زغبي" التي هي على نحو فعال plimsolls.

هناك عدد قليل من الأجزاء التي سيكون تحديا كبيرا لأي شخص لديه خوف جدي من المرتفعات, الأطفال الصغار, أي شخص لديه إعاقة جسدية, أو أي شخص المسنين. أود أن أقترح الطريق هو على الارجح قابلة للتنفيذ لأي فرد صحي العمر 8 إلى 70, ولكن أود أن ممارسة يعتبر الحكم على طرفي هذا النطاق.

الجزء السفلي من جورجكيفية الوصول الى هناك

وبالتالي, قبل أن أذهب إلى أبعد من ذلك سأعطيك بعض توجيهات واضحة (عن طريق البر) إلى أسفل الوادي, وأنا لم تتمكن من العثور على أي باللغة الإنجليزية في أي مكان آخر. خانق ما يزيد قليلا 4 أميال من قرية Myrtos. من إرابيترا دفع الغرب على طول الساحل الجنوبي على الطريق الرئيسي (ودعا "إرابيترا-Arkalochoriou" على الطبل, ودعا "Epar.Od. Pachias عمو - Gdochia "على خرائط جوجل).  تمر عبر غرا يجيا وStomio والاستمرار نحو قرية Myrtos (تقع 8½ ميلا إلى الغرب من إرابيترا). تماما كما قمت بإدخال Myrtos كنت عبور النهر على جسر. هذا هو مجرى النهر أن الماء سوف تتدفق أسفل, ولكنه لا يصل إلى الساحل حيث يتم جمعها المنبع, يفترض للاستخدام الزراعي. في حين أنه من الممكن أن تسير حتى مجرى النهر (أو الطريق الى جانبها) هذا من شأنه أن يكون عدة أميال في الشمس الحارقة, حيث أوصى البقاء في السيارة في الوقت الراهن.

اتبع الطريق الرئيسي الماضي Myrtos التي منحنيات بعيدا إلى الشمال (إلى اليمين), نسخ احتياطي في الجبال. 0.85 ميلا بعد عبور النهر من قبل Myrtos سترون علامات لالانعطاف يمينا باتجاه قرية Mythi. وهناك أيضا علامة في افتا اليونانية والإنجليزية إلى الخانق. اتبع هذا الطريق, و بعد 1.6 الأميال التي سوف تمر عبر قرية Mythi. مواصلة السير في الطريق, والتي سوف لا تزال لديها معالم لالخانق. بعد Mythi يبدأ الطريق لإسقاط مرة أخرى. بعد آخر 0.65 ميل يبدو الطريق إلى أن عبور مجرى النهر مرة أخرى والبدء في الرياح احتياطية. هنا, على اليسار, هي منطقة وقوف السيارات الحصى وبعض المنشآت الخرسانية. يجب أيضا أن تكون قادرا على سماع المياه الجارية. حديقة في منطقة الحصى. تهنئة, كنت قد وصلت في بداية!

لقد قدمت أيضا خرائط جوجل للمساعدة المستكشفين الجريئين

الهرولة حتى الخانق

الجزء الأول من المشي حتى كانيونمرة واحدة كنت قد واقفة (واطلع على بناء ملموس على أن "يختفي" النهر نفسه في حفرة) أنت يمكن أن يفجر حتى الخانق. هناك بعض الخطوات على الجانب الأيسر من موقف للسيارات مع أشجار معلقة عليها. تسلق هذه وعلى رأس (كنت هناك فقط 30 أو حتى خطوات) الطريق يتحول الصحيح, موازية إلى النهر. يمكنك متابعة هذا لبضع مئات من الأمتار. بعد ذلك يبدأ الهرولة.

وأظن أنه من الممكن السير الخانق دون الحصول على واحد قدم الرطب (على الأقل في أغسطس), ولكن للقيام بذلك سيكون تحديا كبيرا. مع درجة الحرارة في ال 30 والأحذية المناسبة اخترنا السير في المياه في بعض الأماكن. وهناك أيضا عدد قليل من الأماكن حيث صخرة كبيرة (3-4m عالية) يجب تحجيم - في هذه الأماكن يد كبيرة وقدم يحمل قطعت جيدا في الصخر.

الطريق ليست دائما واضحة (على الرغم من أن في 10M الوادي واسعة لم يكن هناك الكثير من البحث الذي يتعين القيام به) ولكن هناك الأسهم الصفراء الباهتة التي رسمها في عدد غير قليل من المواقع, ورسمت المربعات الحمراء على الصخور التي هي جزء من الطريق. باستخدام هذه (وقدم منحوتة واضح يحمل) يجعل من العثور على أفضل طريق نسبيا على التوالي إلى الأمام.

بعد حوالي 500M (تخمين الخام إلى حد ما من جهتي) تصل إلى عمق جزء الكريم فقط من النهر في هذا الجزء من الوادي - بركة الذي يبلغ حوالي 7M واسعة من قبل 8M طويلة و2M عميقة في أعمق نقطة. هذا هو أفضل مكان للذهاب لتراجع إذا كنت ترغب في القيام بذلك. أيضا, بعد هنا وهناك بضعة أجزاء صعبة والتي لها حبل المقدمة للمساعدة. إذا كان لديك أي من أفراد أقل ثقة في مجموعتك هذا من شأنه أن يكون مكانا جيدا لوقف قبل ان يعود. إذا كنت واثقا بما فيه الكفاية على حبل هناك سوى بضع مئات من الأمتار للذهاب قبل الخروج من الوادي إلى واد أكثر لطيف حيث النهر أبطأ وهناك الكثير من الأشجار والنباتات. هذا هو أقصى ما ذهبنا.

أنا أفهم أن مشينا "الأول" من 3 أجزاء من الوادي. الجزء الثاني هو منطقة وادي لطيف مع الأشجار والنباتات (خصوصا الخيزران).  بعد هذا هناك على ما يبدو الجزء الثالث من الخانق الذى يوجد فيه مياه أعمق من ذلك بكثير, حيث قد تكون هناك حاجة للسباحة.بركة الوادي الغمس

2014 تحديث

في أغسطس 2014 عدت إلى Sarakina الخانق مع 4 اصحاب. هذا العام كان هناك تقريبا أي مياه على الإطلاق في الخانق, حتى ولو ذهبنا تقريبا على نفس التاريخ كما هو الحال في 2013. نحن جميعا تسلق حبل في نهاية القسم الأول ومواصلة استكشاف. القسم الثاني من السهل جدا لأنه هو مجرد نزهة لطيفة على طول مجرى النهر شقة واسعة مع جزء من السير على طول الطريق الترابية. في نهاية هذا هناك مفترق طرق حيث 2 الأنهار الانضمام. بحثنا حول 200M يصل كل شوكة. الغربي (اليد اليسرى) شوكة سرعان ما يصبح من الصعب جدا لمتابعة بينما الشرقي (اليد اليمنى) تواصل شوكة لتكون واسعة ورقيقة. فمن الممكن أن يمشي مرة أخرى على طول الطريق الترابية تصل إلى طريق معبدة, ومن هناك مرة أخرى على طول الطريق معبدة لبدء الخانق. لم نكن استكشاف أبعد من ذلك, ولكن بعد أن فعلت بعض مزيد من البحوث وأنا على أمل لاستكشاف شرق شوكة أبعد من ذلك بكثير في 2015.

في 2014 مشيت مرة أخرى في plimsolls. ارتدى بلدي النصف أفضل أحذية الشاطئ لها, وعضو آخر من حزبنا لم المشي الكاملة في كتابه المتأرجح. عندما يكون مستوى المياه منخفض (أي. في الصيف) هذه الأنواع من الأحذية هي مناسبة, على الرغم من الصنادل المناسبة ستكون مثالية. الاستعراضات الأخرى قرأت تصر على حذاء المشي السليم كونها الجواب ولكن أفترض هذه يجب أن يشير إلى قبل ذلك بكثير في السنة عندما يكون هناك المزيد من الكثير الماء وأنه من الضروري أن تتخذ طريقا أكثر صعوبة على طول جانبي الوادي.

مواقع أخرى

ملاحظات مرشد الرحلة (includ­ing 2 بواسطتي)
شواطئ جزيرة كريت
صفحات كريت هانز هويسمان ل
كريت على شبكة الإنترنت
Minoa.info
هيرسونيسوس-الآن
Mirtos-Wandeldorp
وجهة كريت

أعتقد أننا قد غاب عن شيء? دعنا نعلم بتعليقك بالأسفل. إذا كنت ترغب في الاشتراك يرجى استخدام الرابط الاشتراك في القائمة في اعلى اليمين. يمكنك أيضا مشاركة هذا مع أصدقائك باستخدام الروابط الاجتماعية أدناه. في صحتك.

اترك رد

واحد التعليق

غرفترفيك غير

مساعدة كبيرة بفضل لم نتمكن من العثور على أي معلومات مفصلة في أماكن أخرى, نحن نأمل أن يذهب غدا مع اثنين 15 الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين عام. العار ليس هناك مياه على الرغم من.

الرد

1Bottom of Sarakina GorgeSarakina Gorge in South East Crete

Just before we set off on our travels this year, I noticed a photo on face­book, pos­ted by a “page” I fol­low called Vis­it­I­era­petra. It was a photo of a beau­ti­ful look­ing fresh-water gorge, appar­ently very near to Iera­petra in South-East Crete. Hav­ing vis­ited Iera­petra over 20 times and hav­ing friends who live there, I thought I’d prob­ably seen all of the loc­al high­lights, but I’d nev­er heard of this gorge. A bit of research on google indic­ated that the gorge wasn’t par­tic­u­larly well known, at least to Eng­lish speak­ers. I gathered togeth­er what inform­a­tion I could and made a vow to find the place.

Sarakina GorgeAfter sev­er­al days get­ting settled back in Crete we set off to find the gorge. I had a sus­pi­cion that I knew where the trek star­ted as a couple of years pre­vi­ously we’d dis­covered a river a short dis­tance from Iera­petra, and with fresh water being fairly rare in August in South-East Crete it seemed the logic­al place to start. Luck­ily it turned out to be the right place.  The gorge called Sarak­ina Gorge, but is also known as Myr­tos Canyon and to loc­als as Sarantapi­hos.  On google maps the river is labelled as “Myr­tos Pot­amos” (i.e. Myr­tos River) although it is more cor­rectly called Kri­opot­amos.

Some advice before you set off

You will need foot­wear that you would con­sider suit­able for a “scramble”; I wouldn’t recom­mend flip-flops for example! Equally, you are likely to get your feet in the water, so expens­ive shoes or train­ers might not be the most sens­ible option either. I wore some “flossy shoes” which are effect­ively plim­solls.

There are a few parts which would be a con­sid­er­able chal­lenge to any­one with a ser­i­ous fear of heights, young chil­dren, any­one with a phys­ic­al dis­ab­il­ity, or any­one eld­erly. I would sug­gest the route is prob­ably doable for any healthy indi­vidu­al aged 8 to 70, but I’d exer­cise con­sidered judge­ment at both ends of that scale.

Bottom of GeorgeHow to get there

So, before I go any fur­ther I’ll give some clear dir­ec­tions (by road) to the bot­tom of the gorge, as I haven’t been able to find any in Eng­lish any­where else. The Gorge is just over 4 miles from the vil­lage of Myr­tos.  From Iera­petra drive West along the South coast on the main road (called “Iera­petra-Arkalo­chori­ou” on TomTom, and called “Epar.Od. Pachi­as Amou — Gdo­chia” on Google Maps).  Pass through Gra Ligia and Stomio and con­tin­ue towards the vil­lage of Myr­tos (loc­ated 8½ miles West of Iera­petra). Just as you enter Myr­tos you cross a river­bed on a bridge. This is the river­bed that the water would flow down, but it doesn’t reach the coast as it is col­lec­ted upstream, pre­sum­ably for agri­cul­tur­al usage. Whilst it would be pos­sible to walk up the river­bed (or the road along­side it) this would be sev­er­al miles in the hot sun, so I’d recom­mend stay­ing in the car for now.

Fol­low the main road past Myr­tos which curves away to the North (to the right), back up into the moun­tains. 0.85 miles after cross­ing the river­bed by Myr­tos you will see signs for a right turn towards the vil­lage of Mythi. There is also a sign in Greek and Eng­lish point­ing to the gorge. Fol­low this road, and after 1.6 miles you will pass through the vil­lage of Mythi. Con­tin­ue along the road, which will still have sign­posts to the gorge. After Mythi the road starts to drop again. After anoth­er 0.65 miles the road appears to be cross­ing the river­bed again and start­ing to wind back up. Here, on the left, is a gravel park­ing area and some con­crete struc­tures. You should also be able to hear run­ning water. Park on the gravel area. Con­grat­u­la­tions, you have arrived at the start!

I’ve also made a google map to help intrep­id explorers

Scrambling up the gorge

First part of walk up CanyonOnce you’ve parked (and had a look at the con­crete con­struc­tion that “dis­ap­pears” the river itself into a hole) you can set off up the gorge. There are some steps on the left hand side of the car park with trees hanging over them. Climb up these and at the top (there’re only 30 or so steps) the path turns right, par­al­lel to the river. You can fol­low this for a couple of hun­dred metres. After this the scram­bling begins.

I sus­pect it is pos­sible to walk the gorge without get­ting one’s feet wet (at least in August), but to do so would be quite a chal­lenge. With the tem­per­at­ure in the 30’s and appro­pri­ate foot­wear we opted to walk in the water in some places. There are also a few places where a large boulder (3–4m high) must be scaled – in these places con­sid­er­able hand and foot holds have been cut well into the rock.

The route isn’t always obvi­ous (although in a 10m wide canyon there isn’t much search­ing to be done) but there are faint yel­low arrows painted in quite a few loc­a­tions, and painted red squares on rocks that are part of the route. Using these (and the obvi­ous carved foot holds) makes find­ing the best route rel­at­ively straight for­ward.

After around 500m (a pretty rough guess on my part) you reach the only decent depth part of the river in this part of the gorge – a pool which is around 7m wide by 8m long and 2m deep at its deep­est point. This is the best place to go for a dip if you wish to do so. Also, after here there are a couple of tricky parts which have a rope provided to help. If you have any less con­fid­ent mem­bers in your group this would be a good place to stop before head­ing back. If you’re con­fid­ent enough on the rope there is only a couple of hun­dred metres to go before you emerge from the gorge into a more gentle val­ley where the river is slower and there are lots of trees and plants. This is as far as we went.

I under­stand that we walked the “first” of 3 parts of the gorge.  The second part is the gentle val­ley area with the tree and plants (espe­cially bam­boo).  After this there is appar­ently a third part of the gorge which has much deep­er water, where swim­ming might be required.Canyon Dipping pool

2014 Update

In August 2014 I returned to Sarak­ina gorge with 4 friends. This year there was almost no water at all in the gorge, even though we went on almost the same date as in 2013. We all climbed up the rope at the end of the first sec­tion and explored fur­ther. The second sec­tion is very easy as it is just a gentle stroll along a wide flat river­bed with part of the walk along a dirt road. At the end of this there is a fork where 2 rivers join. We explored around 200m up each fork. The west­ern (left hand) fork quickly becomes very dif­fi­cult to fol­low whilst the east­ern (right hand) fork con­tin­ues to be wide and gentle. It is pos­sible to walk back along the dirt road up to a paved road, and from there back along the paved road to the start of the gorge. We did not explore any fur­ther, but hav­ing done some more research I am hop­ing to explore the east­ern fork much fur­ther in 2015.

In 2014 I again walked in plim­solls. My bet­ter half wore her beach shoes, and anoth­er mem­ber of our party did the full walk in his flip-flops. When the water level is low (i.e. in sum­mer) these kinds of foot­wear are suit­able, although prop­er san­dals would be the ideal. Oth­er reviews I have read insist on prop­er walk­ing shoes being the answer but I assume these must be refer­ring to much earli­er in the year when there is a lot more water and it is neces­sary to take a more chal­len­ging route along the sides of the canyon.

Other sites

Reviews on trip advisor (includ­ing 2 by me)
Cretan Beaches
Hans Huisman’s Crete pages
Web Crete
Minoa.info
Her­son­is­sos-Now
Mir­tos-Wan­del­dorp
Des­tin­a­tion Crete

Think we've missed something? Let us know by commenting below. If you would like to subscribe please use the subscribe link on the menu at the top right. You can also share this with your friends by using the social links below. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

One Comment

gravatarVickiR

A great help thanks we couldn’t find any detailed info else­where, we are hop­ing to go tomor­row with two 15 year olds. Shame there’s no water though.

Reply