0控制室内植物的有害生物

我长大番茄, 黄瓜, 辣椒, 柠檬和一个朝南的温室橄榄.  在过去 5 多年来,我一直遭受了一系列害虫的攻击我的植物, 似乎每年为不同类型的有害生物的,我征服了以前的害虫后.  下面我介绍几个成功的方法,我发现来控制范围害虫.

一般建议

我发现,有些品种各类型的植物都更能抵抗害虫比别人.  例如似乎是F1阿吉利蒙辣椒不被任何害虫有针对性多, 所以我现在倾向于发展这些而非其他辣椒.  如果当时一切都失败了,我建议看品种你的成长,并尝试一些不同的人.

红蜘蛛

红蜘蛛是最糟糕的害虫之一,因为他们似乎非常难以摧毁.  他们是最喷雾剂和治疗有相当的抵抗力.  我已经发现了一些有效的方法.  首先是增长都在房间里面的韭菜几壶, 在花园里.  红蜘蛛显然是由韭菜的气味击退.  我已经使用了第二控制是吃红蜘蛛捕食螨.  红蜘蛛也喜欢一个房间燥热,所以我已经允许了房间,晚上转凉 (e.g. 通过留下一个小窗口打开).

Greenfly & 蚋

Greenfly和蚋是常见的害虫,可以攻击大多数植物和极其迅速繁殖.  然而他们realtively容易杀.  轻度肥皂水喷雾剂轻易杀死它们关闭, 但要避免使用连这个我通常得到各地四月至五月一些瓢虫和草蛉幼虫,这些将通过在短期内greenfly吃.  Greenfly和蚋也不喜欢阳光直射,所以我已经取代我的排水托盘浅色的人,并重新粉刷房间较淡,使更多的反射光打树叶背面.

牧草虫

蓟马也被瓢虫和草蛉幼虫吃掉所以greenfly和黑蝇一样的待遇,似乎有助于保持蓟马在控制之下.  保持一个窗口打开也允许成年瓢虫和草蛉逃入花园,在那里,他们希望能帮助提高当地的户外人群, 这反过来应该减少的新害虫在未来几年的供应.

粉蚧

我有这些对我的柠檬树,但不是在别的.  他们是在再生特别快, 而且似乎攻击形成水果, 杀死它关闭.  他们可以通过一系列生物控制,包括瓢虫和草蛉被处理.

规模

今年我有介壳虫在我的橄榄厂.  如同所有的害虫我已初步通过挑选他们的时间,他们挤压对待他们.  有 3 品种寄生蜂的 (Metaphycus helvolus, Metaphycus bartletti, 和Scutellista霞这些都是对人体无害) 将控制介壳虫.  首先 2 的 3 只适合于在室内, 而 3RD 似乎并没有被广泛使用.  他们是最有效的软介壳虫.  硬介壳虫最好用型瓢虫的解决 - 红点唇nigritus.

一般建议

绝大多数害虫似乎容易受到瓢虫, 草蛉, 和掠夺黄蜂.  为您的花园最好的办法是通过提供接入到合适的栖息地和水,以支持这些益虫的自然种群.

下一步做什么?

我期待又一个新的有害生物,明年, 也许我会得到我的户外葡萄藤蔓一些wevils.  无论发生什么事,我会准备好.

认为我们已经错过了什么? 让我们通过下面的评论知道. 如果您想订阅,请使用菜单上的订阅链接右上方. 您还可以通过使用下面的链接社会分享这与你的朋友. 干杯.

你可能还喜欢...

发表评论

0Controlling pests on indoor plants

I grow toma­tos, cucum­bers, chil­lis, lem­ons and olives in a south facing con­ser­vat­ory.  Over the last 5 years I’ve suffered with a range of ver­min attack­ing my plants, it seems to be a dif­fer­ent type of pest each year after I’ve conquered the pre­vi­ous pest.  Below I cov­er a few suc­cess­ful ways I’ve found to con­trol a range of pests.

General advice

I’ve found that some vari­et­ies of each type of plant are much more res­ist­ant to ver­min than oth­ers.  For example the F1 Aji Limon chilli pep­pers don’t seem to be tar­geted much by any ver­min, so I now tend to grow these rather than oth­er chil­lis.  If all else fails then I recom­mend look­ing at the vari­et­ies you are grow­ing and try some dif­fer­ent ones.

Red spider mite

Red spider mites are one of the worst pests as they seem very dif­fi­cult to des­troy.  They are fairly res­ist­ant to most sprays and treat­ments.  I have found a few approaches effect­ive.  The first is to grow a few pots of chives both inside the room, and in the garden.  Red spider mites appar­ently are repelled by the smell of chives.  The second con­trol I have used is pred­at­ory mites that eat red spider mite.  Red spider mites also like a room to be dry and hot so I have allowed the room to get colder at night (e.g. by leav­ing a small win­dow open).

Greenfly & Blackfly

Green­fly and black­fly are com­mon pests that can attack most plants and mul­tiply extremely quickly.  How­ever they are real­tively easy to kill.  Mild soapy sprays eas­ily kill them off, but to avoid using even this I usu­ally obtain some lady­bird and lacewing lar­vae around April-May and these will eat through green­fly in short order.  Green­fly and black­fly also don’t like dir­ect sun so I have replaced my drain­age trays with light col­oured ones and repainted the room to a light­er shade so that more reflec­ted light hits the under­side of the leaves.

Thrips

Thrips are also eaten by lady­bird and lacewing lar­vae so the same treat­ment for green­fly and black­fly seems to help keep thrips under con­trol.  Keep­ing a win­dow open also allows the adult lady­birds and lacewings to escape into the garden where they will hope­fully help to increase to loc­al out­door pop­u­la­tion, which in turn should reduce the sup­ply of new pests in future years.

Mealybugs

I’ve had these on my lem­on tree but not on any­thing else.  They are par­tic­u­larly fast at repro­du­cing, and seem to attack the form­ing fruit, killing it off.  They can be dealt with by a range of bio­lo­gic­al con­trols includ­ing lady­birds and lacewings.

Scale

This year I’ve had scale insects on my olive plant.  As with all pests I have ini­tially treated them by pick­ing them off and squash­ing them.  There are 3 vari­et­ies of para­sit­ic wasp (Meta­phy­cus hel­vol­us, Meta­phy­cus bart­letti, and Scu­tel­lista cyanea which are all harm­less to humans) that will con­trol scale insects.  The first 2 of the 3 are only suit­able for indoors, whilst the 3rd doesn’t seem to be widely avail­able.  They are most effect­ive with soft scale insects.  Hard scale insects are best addressed with a type of lady­bird — Chilo­cor­us nigrit­us.

General advice

The large major­ity of pests seem to be sus­cept­ible to lady­birds, lacewings, and pred­at­ory wasps.  The best thing for your garden is to sup­port nat­ur­al pop­u­la­tions of these help­ful insects by provid­ing them with access to a suit­able hab­it­at and water.

What next?

I’m anti­cip­at­ing yet anoth­er new pest next year, per­haps I’ll get some vine wevils on my out­door grape vine.  Whatever comes I’ll be ready.

What do you think? Drop us a comment below! If you would like to subscribe please use the subscribe link on the menu at the top right. You can also share this with your friends by using the social links below. Cheers.

You might also like...

Leave a Reply